skip navigation

OMHA Recognizes 2016 Award Winners

By Ontario Minor Hockey Association, 06/13/16, 9:15AM EDT


Five deserving volunteers recognized for outstanding contributions to the OMHA

The Ontario Minor Hockey Association presented its awards at the Annual General Meeting held at the Sheraton Parkway Hotel in Richmond Hill on June 10th to recognize the outstanding achievements of its athletes and volunteers.

The OMHA Honour Award is a prestigious award presented to a person who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to minor hockey for a considerable period of time. John Welsh of Peterborough Minor Hockey Association was recognized as this year’s recipient. John is always giving back to the community and has earned the respect of his players. He is the type of person you want to emulate and is understanding. John has set the bar high for minor hockey in Peterborough.

The OMHA Excellence in Development Award was established to recognize and honour an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to hockey development programming in minor hockey in the OMHA. Brandon Boone of the Niagara Falls Minor Hockey Association goes above and beyond helping the players. Brandon is dedicated will help any player and always gives 100 per cent into his work.

The Wally Scott Bursary is given in recognition of outstanding commitment to community service, athletics, and academics. This year there are two recipients - TiffanyRea Glenn-Cooke (Huntsville) and Owen Stichhaller (LaSalle). TiffanyRea has balanced academics with athletics throughout her time in high school and is a four-time honour student. Owen is known as a polite and courteous student and has worked hard for his success.

The Patricia Hartley Administrators Award is given in recognition of exemplary service in the field of sports administration. This award reflects the achievements of a local executive board member or volunteer staff person towards the efficient operations of an association and the betterment of hockey.  The recipient of this years’ award is Terry Conroy of the Centre Wellington Minor Hockey Association. Terry has been with the local hockey community for over 35 years assisted in the amalgamation and creation of Centre Wellington. He is very knowledgeable and quick to respond. Terry is a valuable asset to Centre Wellington.

The George H. Carver Media Award recognizes the invaluable coverage of minor hockey in the Ontario Minor Hockey Association provided by local media outlets. Craig Ripley of ROGERS TV Barrie is this year’s recipient and has spent countless hours covering minor hockey in Barrie. Craig always makes sure that teams get recognized for their achievements and does a great job of promoting minor hockey of all age levels.

you may also like

Home Ice