skip navigation


Each year the Ontario Minor Hockey Association recognizes excellence in various areas of minor hockey with five distinctive awards. 

OMHA Honour Award

The OMHA Honour Award was established to honour a person who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to minor hockey for a considerable period of time doing so of their own free will and not as part of a job or position for which he receives or received monetary consideration. Any services performed by recreation directors, arena managers, etc. for which remuneration is received in performance of their duties, shall not count as service in regard to this award.

Excellence in Development Award

An award established to recognize and honour an individual (1-3 per year) who has made an outstanding contribution to hockey development programming in minor hockey in the OMHA.

Nominees can be from any area of hockey development, including: 

  • Player development 
  • Coaching 
  • Officiating 
  • Safety 
  • Program Administration 
  • Other related categories 

Dairy Farmers of Ontario and Wally Scott Bursaries

Players know first-hand the commitment needed to succeed at a high level on the ice and in the classroom.

The OMHA is proud to partner with the Dairy Farmers of Ontario (DFO) to present the Bursary Program which provides minor hockey players recognition of their outstanding commitment to:

  • Community service: assisting in building stronger and healthier communities
  • Athletics: on-ice success/achievement, as well a passion for the game of hockey
  • Academics: dedication to studies and attainment of high grades in the classroom

The OMHA Bursary Program is comprised of two awards – the Dairy Farmers of Ontario Bursary and the Wally Scott Bursary. It reflects the achievements of young hockey players who are committed to their community, athletic ability, and academic achievement. Each recipient will receive financial support towards their post-secondary education. Bursaries will be issued to the applicant’s post-secondary institution.

Five DFO Bursaries will be awarded at $8,000 each and up to two Wally Scott Bursary recipient(s) can receive between $1,000 and $2,500.


  • Requests can only be made for active players aged up to twenty years and must have been a registered player in the Ontario Minor Hockey Association for a minimum of five years.
  • A player attending a post-secondary institution during the 2020-2021 school year.
  • Maintain a high standard of academic excellence.
  • Active in their local community programs (any community sport or social program).

Patrica Hartley Administrators Award

Given in recognition of exemplary service in the field of sports administration. This award reflects the achievements of a local executive board member or volunteer staff person towards the efficient operations of an association and the betterment of hockey. Recipients of this award will be selected for outstanding leadership within their own association, commitment to their organization and overall involvement in minor hockey.


  • Must be nominated by a local minor hockey association
  • Must be a member in good standing of their local minor hockey association
  • Must be a current un-paid volunteer
  • Must have been involved in their association for a minimum of seven [7] years
  • Must have held a volunteer administrative position of importance for a minimum of five [5] years
  • Must have held one of these positions during the current season

George Carver Media Award

The George H. Carver Media Award is designed to show appreciation for the invaluable coverage of minor hockey in the Ontario Minor Hockey Association provided by local media outlets. During the course of any minor hockey season, players and their parents rely on local media for coverage of their teams and leagues. For this reason the OMHA has elected to profile one media outlet for their excellent coverage of minor hockey during the minor hockey season.


  • Must be a local media outlet and/or their reporters located in OMHA centres
  • Must be nominated by a local minor hockey association
  • Coverage must have taken place in the current season
  • Nominations may be for continuing coverage of a team
  • Nominations may be for continuing coverage of the hockey centre
  • Nominations may be for in-depth coverage of a tournament, hockey event, or playdowns

you may also like

Players Club
Players Club