skip navigation

Last Call for OMHA Award Nominations

By Ontario Minor Hockey Association, 02/07/16, 10:00AM EST


Submit Nominations for OMHA Awards

The Ontario Minor Hockey Association is now accepting nominations for the Patricia Hartley Administrators Award, the George H. Carver Media Award, OMHA Honour Award, the Excellence in Development Award and the Wally Scott Bursary.

OMHA Honour Award

This award is set up to honour a person who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to minor hockey for a considerable period of time, doing so of his, or her, own free will and not as part of a job or position for which they receive monetary consideration.

Any services performed by recreation directors, arena managers, etc., in performance of their duties, shall not count as service in regard to this award.

This award is to honour a volunteer worker at the local level and therefore any officer or Executive Member of the CHA, OHA, WOAA, or GHTL shall not be eligible. Also, any Life Member, Past President, Officer, Executive Member or District Convenor of the OMHA shall not be eligible. However, any person covered by the previous paragraph who drop out of this office or position, and continues to volunteer work for minor hockey, shall become eligible for nomination after he has been out of his previous position for two years.

Any OMHA minor hockey organization in good standing may nominate a person for this award by mailing a nomination letter to the OMHA stating the services the nominee has given to minor hockey.

Excellence in Development Award

An award established to recognize and honour an individual (1-3 per year) who has made an outstanding contribution to hockey development programming in minor hockey in the OMHA.

Nominees can be from any area of hockey development, including: 

  • Player development 
  • Coaching 
  • Officiating 
  • Safety 
  • Program Administration 
  • Other related categories 

Wally Scott Bursary

The Wally Scott Bursary is given in recognition of outstanding commitment to community service, athletics, and academics.  This bursary reflects the achievements of a young hockey player who is committed to his or her community, athletic ability, and academic achievement.  Each approved recipient may receive between $1,000 and $2,500 towards his or her post-secondary education.  Bursary amounts are subject to change depending on available funds.  There will be a maximum of two bursary winners awarded per year.  Bursaries will be issued to the applicant’s post-secondary institution.

Patrica Hartley Administrators Award

Given in recognition of exemplary service in the field of sports administration. This award reflects the achievements of a local executive board member or volunteer staff person towards the efficient operations of an association and the betterment of hockey. Recipients of this award will be selected for outstanding leadership within their own association, commitment to their organization and overall involvement in minor hockey.

  • Must be nominated by a local minor hockey association
  • Must be amember in good standing of their local minor hockey association
  • Must be a current un-paid volunteer
  • Must have been involved in their association for a minimum of seven [7] years
  • Must have held a volunteer administrative position of importance for a minimum of five [5] years
  • Must have held one of these positions during the current season

The George H. Carver Media Award

The George H. Carver Media Award is designed to show appreciation for the invaluable coverage of minor hockey in the Ontario Minor Hockey Association provided by local media outlets. During the course of any minor hockey season, players and their parents rely on local media for coverage of their teams and leagues. For this reason the OMHA has elected to profile one print media outlet for their excellent coverage of minor hockey during the minor hockey season.

  • Must be a local media outlet and/or their reporters located in OMHA centres
  • Must be nominated by a local minor hockey association
  • Coverage must have taken place in the current season
  • Nominations may be for continuing coverage of a team
  • Nominations may be for continuing coverage of the hockey centre
  • Nominations may be for in-depth coverage of a tournament, hockey event, or playdowns

Recent Headlines

Drill of the Week

Latest Features

Drill of the Week