skip navigation

Our 2019-2020 Year in Review

By Ontario Minor Hockey Association, 12/28/20, 5:30PM EST


The highlights of the year that was

As we reflect on 2020 it's easy to say that this has been a very different year for everyone. We've all made adjustments to make sure everyone can stay safe and healthy. The Year in Review is a look back to the 2019-2020 season and some of the highlights of that year as we look forward to 2021.

Check out some more memories of the past year.

A #RedHats Suprise

The cancellation of hockey came in light of an unprecedented and difficult situation with the onset of COVID-19. For the players just beginning to compete for an OMHA Championship, it brought clear and understandable disappointment.

The OMHA awarded the title of Co-Champion and presented our coveted #RedHats to all of the teams that reached the Finals of OMHA Playdowns presented by Egg Farmers of Ontario in 2020. Each of the two finalists (110 teams) from the 55 Playdowns received #RedHats.


In the season finale of Home Ice presented by Dairy Farmers of Ontario, the Quinte Red Devils have booked their ticket to the OMHA Minor Midget AAA Championship powered by Under Armour. It all comes down to this one weekend to see who will be crowned the best. Check out the last episode and catch up on all three seasons, including World Juniors forward Cole Perfetti with the Whitby Wildcats.


The Ontario Minor Hockey Association announced the grand prize winner and finalists of the sixth annual Essay Contest presented by Respect in Sport. The theme was ‘I Love Hockey Because...'. Over 150 essays were submitted and based on the quality, creativity and passion demonstrated in their submission, five finalists were selected with one of them emerging as our grand prize winner. Briar Deckers of the Guelph Minor Hockey Association wrote about how hockey can be played by anyone and brings you into a second family.


Four OMHA alumni won the Stanley Cup with the Tampa Bay Lightning! Congrats go out to Steven Stamkos (Markham), Barclay Goodrow (York-Simcoe), Carter Verhaeghe (Hamilton) and Mitchell Stephens (Peterborough). Who's winning this year?

Like this article?

Share with your friends on Facebook and join the largest network of hockey parents.

you may also like

Drill of the Week