skip navigation

12 OMHA Players Recipients of OHF Scholarships

By Ontario Minor Hockey Association, 07/07/20, 8:45AM EDT


Outstanding student athletes awarded post-secondary education scholarships

Photo Credit: Tim Bates/OJHL Photography

The Ontario Hockey Federation has awarded 12 OMHA players (30 total individuals) with an OHF Scholarship to be used towards post-secondary education for the upcoming school year.

Each year, the OHF awards scholarships to outstanding young people who display an incredible amount of commitment both at the arena and in the classroom. The recipients are determined on the basis of academic achievements, hockey involvement and community involvement.

Introduced in 1997 to recognize and reward dedication in education and hockey, the OHF Scholarship provides financial assistance to registered OHF participants to offset the cost of post-secondary education. Since its inception, the OHF has distributed more than $450,000 to over 400 post-secondary students.

“The OHF is very proud to offer the OHF Scholarship Program to provide support to individuals who have excelled in both their academics and within our hockey programming,” said Tony Foresi, Chairman of the OHF Board of Directors. “We had an exceptional group of applicants this year and we look forward to seeing their success in the future.”

To be eligible to receive a scholarship, a candidate must have been registered for three years within the OHF in any capacity - player, trainer, coach, official, be registered with the OHF during their application season, be a registrant in good standing with the OHF and be enrolling in post-secondary full-time studies in Canada for the first time.

Congratulations to the following individuals for their outstanding work on and off the ice, the OMHA and OHF wish you the best in your academic pursuit.

Name Minor Hockey Association
Michael Adams Lambeth
Christian Browne Midland
Jack Carscadden Barrie
Braedan Downer Orillia
Jacob Elliot Whitby
William Galiegue Woodville
Ryan Hanley Lasalle
Adam Huras New Hamburg
Alastair Irvine Hagersville
Daniel Neiterman Dundas
Travis Phibbs Hagersville
Alex Thersidis Stoney Creek

Like this article?

Share with your friends on Facebook and join the largest network of hockey parents.

you may also like