In order for NCCP coaches to maintain their ‘CERTIFIED’ status, they will be required to obtain a required number Professional Development (PD) points over a 5 year period.

The chart below defines number of Professional Development points required by stream/level:

Certification / Stream 

5 Years

High Performance 1 (HP1)
Competition Development

30 Points

Development 1 (D1)
Competition Introduction

20 Points

Coach 2 – Coach Level  (C2)
Community Sport

10 Points



  • If Coach does not complete Hockey Canada Certification Maintenance within 5 year window, qualification will revert from ‘Certified’ to ‘Certified' NOT RENEWED
  • The Hockey Canada Certification Maintenance Program replaces the OMHA’s Continuing Education Program (CEP) for Coaches. The Professional Development Points, their value and requirements by level of Certification are completely different. Review the Hockey Canada NCCP Certification Maintenance document (below)
  • The OMHA Coach Refresher Clinic will no longer renew Coach Qualifications as it did in the past. The Coach Refresher Clinic will be a Professional Development option for Coaches and will now carry a value of 3 Professional Development points in the Certification Maintenance Program