skip navigation

Hockey in Ontario

Hockey Canada is the sole governing body for amateur hockey in Canada following the merger in July 1994 of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association and Hockey Canada.

Each province is represented by a Branch of Hockey Canada. In Ontario, there are three Branches Hockey Northwestern Ontario, Ottawa District Hockey Association and the Ontario Hockey Federation.

The OHF is a proud Branch of Hockey Canada. Hockey Canada is the self-governing body of all amateur hockey in Canada. The Hockey Canada membership consists of thirteen Branches, where the OHF is the largest.

There are a total of three Hockey Canada Branches that govern hockey in Ontario. The OHF has largest area of jurisdiction over the province of Ontario. The OHF operates within a structure that is comprised of seven Member Partners: Alliance Hockey, Greater Toronto Hockey League, Northern Ontario Hockey Association,Ontario Hockey Association, Ontario Hockey League, Ontario Minor Hockey Association, and Ontario Women''s Hockey Association. Each operates specific programs to their area or jurisdiction, following Hockey Canada and OHF Regulations, Rules and Policies.

The Ontario Minor Hockey Association, founded in 1935, is the largest minor hockey association in the world and oversees a participant base of 300,000 consisting of players, coaches, trainers, officials, hockey volunteers and parents across the province. The OMHA has 250 active member minor hockey associations and annually coordinates 31 leagues and approximately 600 development clinics throughout Ontario.

Click here for a detailed description of the Ontario Hockey Federation Member Partners.

The Hockey Development Centre of Ontario is a joint project of the Government of Ontario and the amateur hockey bodies in Ontario. It was created to establish "one voice" for amateur hockey in Ontario and to play a coordinating role between the member organizations. The HDCO is a non-profit organization that receives financial support by the Provincial Sport and Recreation Branch of the Ministry of Health Promotion.