skip navigation

Champions League Showdown

03/11/2014, 11:30am EDT
By Ontario Minor Hockey Association

Schedule Announced for OHL Cup

The Ontario Hockey League announced the final schedule for the 2014 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament to be played March 11-16 at Buckingham Arena in Toronto. 

The action begins on Tuesday afternoon with three Wild Card ‘Play In’ Games to complete the list of 20 tournament entries before the 40-game Round Robin action begins on Tuesday night through Friday.  The Quarter-Finals and Semi-Final contests will be played on Saturday with the Championship Final set for Sunday afternoon.

The showcase provides fans and scouts one last opportunity to see many of the top minor midget aged players from across Ontario and parts of the United States compete for the OHL Cup performing against the best competition prior to the 2014 OHL Priority Selection. 

2014 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Schedule

Division 1

Toronto Jr. Canadiens (GTHL Champions)
Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs (OMHA Championship Bronze Medalists) 
Team NOHA (Northern Ontario Hockey Association)
Ottawa Jr. 67’s (OEMHL Finalist) 
Wild Card Game 1 Winner

Division 3

Waterloo Wolves (ALLIANCE Champions)
Toronto Marlboros (GTHL Finalist)
Southern Tier Admirals (OMHA Championship Silver Medalist)
Elite Hockey Group (USA)
Wild Card Game 3 Winner

Division 2

Ottawa Valley Titans (OEMHL Champions)
Mississauga Senators (GTHL Semi-Finalist)
Peterborough Petes (OMHA Championship 4th Place)
Chatham Kent Cyclones (ALLIANCE Semi-Final Series Winner)
Wild Card Game 2 Winner

Division 4

Whitby Wildcats (OMHA Championship Gold Medalist)
Kitchener Jr. Rangers (ALLIANCE Finalist)
Vaughan Kings (GTHL Semi-Finalist)
Thunder Bay Kings (Hockey Northwestern Ontario)
TPH Thunder (USA)

Wild Card "Play In" Games

Game 1: 12:00 pm North York Rangers (GTHL Invite) vs. Don Mills Flyers (GTHL Invite) – Winner becomes WC1
Game 2: 2:00 pm South Central Coyotes (OMHA Invite) vs. Brantford 99ers (ALLIANCE Semi-Finalist) – Winner becomes WC2
Game 3: 4:00 pm Guelph Gryphons (OMHA Championship Qualifier) vs. Halton Hurricanes (OMHA Invite) – Winner becomes WC3

Wild Card ‘Play In’ Game Invites were determined by a Tournament Selection Committee based on regular season, playoff, and tournament play.  All three matchups were randomly drawn on Monday night.   

About the OHL Cup

The OHL in association with Rogers TV is also pleased to announce coverage of the OHL Cup on Rogers TV Cable 10/63 in Toronto/Scarborough.  Broadcast coverage will include daily games from the round-robin along with both Semi-Final matchups and the Championship Final.  Schedule details are available at  Additional airtimes will also be available on Rogers TV Sports+ for Rogers digital customers across Ontario on channels 368 (SD) and 369 (HD).  Visit for complete broadcast schedule.
Last season the Oakville Rangers captured their first OHL cup title with a 5-1 win over the Toronto Marlies led by tournament MVP Adam Craievich who was later selected in the third round of the 2013 OHL Priority Selection by the Guelph Storm.  

A total of 13 players that competed in the 2013 OHL Cup were selected in the first round of the OHL Priority Selection including nine of the top 10 players such as Travis Konecny (Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs - 1st overall to the Ottawa 67’s), Dylan Strome (Toronto Marlies – 2nd overall to the Erie Otters), Matthew Spencer (Oakville Rangers – 3rd overall to the Peterborough Petes), Lawson Crouse (Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs – 5th overall to the Kingston Frontenacs), Hayden McCool (Whitby Wildcats – 6th overall to the Niagara IceDogs), Kyle Capobianco (Oakville Rangers – 7th overall to the Sudbury Wolves), Mitchell Stephens (Toronto Marlies – 8th overall to the Saginaw Spirit), Nikita Korostelev (Toronto Jr. Canadiens – 9th overall to the Sarnia Sting), and Brett McKenzie (Oakville Rangers – 10th overall to the North Bay Battalion).

Three of the last six players selected first overall in the NHL Draft are OHL and OHL Cup graduates including Taylor Hall of the Edmonton Oilers, John Tavares of the New York Islanders, and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning.  2011 NHL Rookie of the Year Jeff Skinner of the Carolina Hurricanes also competed in this event, as did 2010 OHL Cup MVP Sean Monahan currently starring with the Calgary Flames in his first NHL season.  Monahan was one of five OHL Cup graduates selected in the first round of the 2013 NHL Draft along with current OHL stars Darnell Nurse of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds, Bo Horvat and Max Domi of the London Knights, and Jason Dickinson of the Guelph Storm.

For more information please visit

Related Articles

The OMHA is providing development opportunities for Players and Coaches

Tag(s): Home